HELP! DUAL HDD NAS "REBUILDING RAID"

Ethernet - Switches - Hubs - Enclosures - Patch Panels - Cabinets
4 posts Page 1 of 1
gavlar1977
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:07 pm
by gavlar1977 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:20 pm
My NAS unit stopped working so I dialed in to the GUI and it says, "Rebuilding Raid" and just site there spinning away

I left it over night and its the same in the morning.

I have two 500GB disks in RAID1 array

I NEED the data on this, its 10 years of family pictures,
I thought I was being safe using a RAID NAS device

I have tried taking the drives out, putting them in a SATA USB enclosure (one at a time) and reading them off via my PC, but obviously the partitions (which do show as healthy in Disk Manager) are not recognised by Windows due to the Linux based system which created them

Is it possible to read these disks using a linux machine, or will the RAID 1 array config prevent that?

If so is it possible to recover the DUAL NAS from its current state without deleting the data on the disks?

if I do a factory reset, would I have to rebuild the RAID array or reformat?

PLEASE HELP!!

 

LINDY Gary
LINDY Staff
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:01 pm
by LINDY Gary » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:35 am
Hi Sir,

It's quite unfortunate to hear that this has happened. To be perfectly honest with you I don't think that your data will be retrievable, but this is something that I am going to check with our factory for you.

If the volumes within the unit were not set up as a soft RAID then an Linux distribution would have read the formats. Do you have a backup of your images anywhere else ?

Best Regards

 

gavlar1977
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:07 pm
by gavlar1977 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:02 pm
Some of it, but a lot of it no.
It was written straight to the NAS share from the source

If the device is unable to recover the data, is it possible for a linux server to access it?
I have some at the office i can use to mount the drives to?> the FS is EXT3 right?

Failing that, do you expect the data to still be there if I have it forensically recovered?
That would be my last resort.


Thanks for your help

 

LINDY Gary
LINDY Staff
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:01 pm
by LINDY Gary » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:03 pm
Hi There,

Yes I think it can be forensically recovered but a specialist company, it may be an idea to make some clones or images of the disks if possible first.

I know that this is an issue even for proper RAID volumes because the container of the data varies between formats and systems/volumes.

If the item was manufactured locally in the UK we could of perhaps had the makers try to recover the data by fixing the fault with the item. I think the issue with the NAS in within the logic.

Best Regards
4 posts Page 1 of 1