32479 won't boot with two disks

Ethernet - Switches - Hubs - Enclosures - Patch Panels - Cabinets
7 posts Page 1 of 1
dmaidmen
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:26 am
by dmaidmen » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:35 am
Hi,

I have a 32479 dual hdd NAS. I have put 2x200GB Segate SATA drives in but the unit refuses to boot. I get a beeping noise that usually indicates that no drives are present.

I have booted the NAS with the first drive (by unplugging power to the second). Formatted the first drive and that was all fine. I then unplugged the power to the first drive, plugged in the second and formatted that successfully.

Therefore both drives work correctly in isolation using their individual power and sata leads however when both drives are connected at the same time the unit fails to boot.

Any ideas?

Cheers,

Duncan

 

LINDY Steve
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:34 am
by LINDY Steve » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:27 pm
Hi Duncan, please complete our returns form online to arrange for return of the item for inspection and testing. Here is the link to the returns form: http://www.lindy.co.uk/shop/returnsMerchandise.do

Regards LINDY Technical.

 

dmaidmen
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:26 am
by dmaidmen » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:58 pm
Hi Steve,

Thanks for responding but I believe the NAS is at least three years old. Does it still qualify?

Thanks,

Duncan

 

LINDY Steve
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:34 am
by LINDY Steve » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:09 pm
Hi Duncan, I'm really sorry, but this item is no longer available and only had a two year warranty. Sorry we are not able to help on this occassion.

Regards

LINDY Technical

 

dmaidmen
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:26 am
by dmaidmen » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:34 pm
I was wondering if one your technical guys had an idea. I didn't expect to RMA it. As both SATA channels seem to be working independently I'm confused why they don't work together..

 

LINDY Steve
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:34 am
by LINDY Steve » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:50 pm
H Duncan, sorty but we have not encountered this problem before so it is difficult to advise where the problem may be. If it is a hardware issue then it would be impossible to repair due to the surface mount components fitted to the control board.

Regards

LINDY Technical

 

dmaidmen
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:26 am
by dmaidmen » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:30 pm
Ok, thanks. I appreciate the speedy response. I'll have to run a single disk until I can afford to replace it.

Cheers,

Duncan
7 posts Page 1 of 1