Trying to setup a 32777 DVI KVM switch Between Macs

PS/2 - USB - LCD Consoles - Remote Management
10 posts Page 1 of 1
angelocr
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:22 pm
by angelocr » Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:35 pm
Hi,

I am trying to set up this KVM Switch. At the moment I am testing it with just one computer, a MacBook with OSX 10.8 and an Apple Cinema Display 23". The video output is MiniDisplayPort with a DVI converter.

I installed the USB KVM setting software ver. 1.0.1 (1.0.6) and the keyboard and mouse work just fine.

The issue is the monitor stays black, only its led goes on, maybe it sees some signal. The computer doesn't see the monitor at all. If I connect it directly, everything is fine.

Is my setup correct? What should I check more?

Thanks a lot!

 

LINDY John
LINDY Staff
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:46 am
by LINDY John » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:14 pm
Hi, I don't think that this product has been tested with 10.8 . I would do this now but unfortunately we have none in stock at the moment

 

angelocr
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:22 pm
by angelocr » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:32 pm
Hmmmm.... I see. So what do you suggest? Is there any further test I could do?

Thanks a lot!

 

LINDY John
LINDY Staff
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:46 am
by LINDY John » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:37 pm
I would suggest checking all the cables and the DVI adapter . I would be interested in knowing if the DVI adapter works when direct to the cinema display and not through the KVM

 

angelocr
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:22 pm
by angelocr » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:44 pm
The answer is absolutely yes. In fact I am posting this using the external monitor directly connected. I confirm also USB passes throgh the switch correctly. The problem is just with the DVI video signal. When usb goes through the switch the icon for the lindy software in the dock is green.

So everything seems fine except switching the DVI signal.

 

LINDY John
LINDY Staff
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:46 am
by LINDY John » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:40 am
Hi, What resolutions are you using? Try dropping them to the lowest setting. If this fails I would suggest returning the item for testing

 

angelocr
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:22 pm
by angelocr » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:21 am
The resolution is 1920x1200, I cannot lower it while the monitor is not seen by the computer, I think in order to do so they have to have to recognise each other. Will you have a chance to test the KVM switch it in a setup similar to mine?

Thanks.

 

LINDY John
LINDY Staff
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:46 am
by LINDY John » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:30 am
Hi. You could plug in direct to the monitor and change the resolution to 1080p. Restart and then connect the KVM. This will let us know if the unit works and the problem is the resolution which may be compromised by the adapter.

We can test the unit if it is returned. We have a mac running 10.8 but not a display capable of 1920 x 1200

 

johnnendk
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:40 pm
by johnnendk » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:46 pm
Did you find an answer to the problem? I have a similar problem. I just bought a Lindy KVM Switch Micro USB 2.0.

When connected i get a lot of static on my monitor. I followed your advise above and the static disappeared when i changed the resolution to 1360x768.

I run OS X 10.9 on a MacBook Pro Retina 13".

 

LINDY Shippers
LINDY Staff
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 pm
 
by LINDY Shippers » Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:09 am
Hi,

What other device do you have connected? Are you using direct cables and not any extension leads?

Chris
10 posts Page 1 of 1