IP Power Switch Classic 16 - Linux

IEC - Figure 8 - Cloverleaf - UK, US and Euro plugs - Mains Adapters
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Christy
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:04 am
by Christy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:22 am
Hi there

I'm interested in the unit IP power switch Classic 16 (32658) but I am limited to Linux. Can I simply control the unit over h t t p with Curl or equivalent?

Many thanks in advance
Christy

 

LINDY Shippers
LINDY Staff
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 pm
 
by LINDY Shippers » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:57 am
Hi,

The main control interface is over HTTP using the units IP address. However you can also use a syntax.
Code: Select all
'========================================================================== ' The script example at bottom only works with Part N° 32657/32658 ' ' IPower_ONS/OFFS/OFFON ' ' Allows using the Windows Task Scheduler to switch the IPower Classic ON, OFF, OFF/ON ' ' ' DATE : 19/03/2012 ' Author : Serge Bapst ' Mail : serge.bapst@lindy.fr ' HTTP://www.lindy.fr ' ' ========================================================================== ' Settings: ' ' "http://[snmp:1234]@[ip.address][:HTTP-Port]/[offon|ons|offs].cgi?led=[1111111111111111]" ' ' [offon] Command defining the switching state of the unit, in this example all ports(*) coming to switch OFF/ON. ' Command could be [offs] or [ons] ' (*) depending on the value (0 or 1) fully right ' Port N° 1 is on th left, port N°16 on the right - The affected port will be exclude if you set his value to "0" ' ========================================================================== ' [snmp:1234] Access is password protected, we recommend that you change the default ' password at your convenience. ' ' ========================================================================== ' [ip.addr] IP address or Hostname ' ========================================================================== ' [:PORT] Here you have to specify the HTTP Port if the default port (80) is not used ' ' ========================================================================== ' ' ' ' ' VBS script example, You have to change the values accordling to your needs. ' Paste the 3 following lines in an empty Notepad document and save it with the ".vbs" extension (i.e yourscript.vbs) Set HttpReq = CreateObject("MSXML2.ServerXMLHTTP") HttpReq.Open "POST", "http://snmp:1234@192.168.0.1/offs.cgi?led=1111111111111111", False HttpReq.send
Attachments
32657_58_scripting.txt
(1.79 KiB) Downloaded 42 times

 

Christy
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:04 am
by Christy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:48 pm
Thanks for the prompt reply.

So If I understand this correctly, I simply send an H T TP POST message to control the unit in the following ways:

Set all of the 16 nodes to OFF: h tt p://snmp:1234@192.168.0.1/offs.cgi?led=1111111111111111

Set the 8th node to ON: h tt p://snmp:1234@192.168.0.1/ons.cgi?led=0000000100000000

Switch nodes from their current state to their opposite state: h ttp://snmp:1234@192.168.0.1/offon.cgi?led=1111111111111111

Basically I want to hook up 16 test systems to this and control them remotely with Robot Framework. If the above is correct then this is a rather simple process and would suit my needs functionally.

Have you any recommendations on how frequent each port this unit can be toggled? e.g if we switched them ON/OFF every few seconds (we will not be doing anything near that on a regular basis) can it withstand that for a prolonged period?

thanks again for the reply.

Christy

 

LINDY Shippers
LINDY Staff
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 pm
 
by LINDY Shippers » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:57 pm
Hi,

The above looks like it should work.

Unfortunately I have no data on the lifetime of the relays in the units. Every few seconds would really place "load" on them. These are designed to switch servers on and off infrequently.

Chris

 

Christy
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:04 am
by Christy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:23 pm
So to put it into context for this... based on your experience, would the unit be able to handle each port being turned ON/OFF say every 5 minutes for 1 hour? Sorry, I know this has diverted from the original question which you answered. I have two existing non-Lindy units, one slightly more expensive than the Lindy and one slightly less expensive than both. The cheaper one can't handle frequent switches. I'm trying to guage if this particular unit will satisfy my requirements for a new power unit.

:-)

 

LINDY Shippers
LINDY Staff
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 pm
 
by LINDY Shippers » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:30 pm
Hi

I think the switching would be fine, but I would fear for the life span of the relays inside the unit. Would this be going on for months / years?

I'll drop an email to our factory to see if any MTBF data is available or similar information that would help.

Chris

 

LINDY Shippers
LINDY Staff
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 pm
 
by LINDY Shippers » Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:32 am
The unit is rated for 90000 hrs MTBF. This is obviously based on infrequent switching.

Chris

 

Christy
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:04 am
by Christy » Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:43 pm
Hi

Thanks again for the response which is appreciated. In reality a common test we may do is to switch ON and OFF maybe 100 times in an hour to test edge conditions in an automated testing lab. This would be executed once or twice per month. In between times there may be other automated testing that require reboot of the systems attached, but this would be infrequent. Our main concern is that we can toggle the switch via script, but also useful to know our limitations on loading the unit so that we can isolate specific tests.

Thanks again for the info.

Christy
8 posts Page 1 of 1